Board of Commissioners

The chief legislative and policy-making body of Barry County government is the eight-member Board of Commissioners. Commissioners are elected to 2-year terms from districts that are roughly equal in population. A chair and vice-chair are elected at the first meeting of each new year by the Commissioners.



Bob Teunessen
District 1

Commissioner Bob Teunessen (R)

Committees:  Board of Health, Board of Public Works, Airport Commission, MSU Extension District 7 Advisory Council


Catherine Getty
District 2

Commissioner Catherine Getty (R)
(269) 953-3151

Committees: Broadband Expansion Committee, Personnel and Human Services Committee, Board of Health, Middleville LDFA, Parks and Recreation Board, Solid Waste Oversite Committee


David W. Jackson - Chair
District 3

Commissioner David W. Jackson (R)

5395 Guernsey Lake Rd.
Delton, MI  49046
(616) 437-0296

Committees: Brownfield Redevelopment Authority, Economic Development Alliance, Personnel and Human Services Committee, Local Emergency Planning Committee, Tax Allocation Board


Jon Smelker
District 4

Commissioner Jon Smelker (R)

7101 Buehler Rd.
Freeport, MI 49325
(616) 765-8481

Committees: Airport Commission, Central Dispatch Administration Board, Community Corrections Advisory Board, Judicial/Security Committee, Transit Board

Mike Callton
District 5

Commissioner Mike Callton (R)

Committees: Barry County Resource Network, Broadband Expansion Committee, Commission on Aging Board, Personnel and Human Services Committee, Jordan Lake Improvement Board, Transit Board

Mark A. Doster
District 6

Commissioner Mark A. Doster (R)

Committees: Area Agency on Aging -3B Board, Board of Public Works, Conservation District Board, Gun Lake Improvement Board, Mental Health Authority, Southwest Michigan Behavioral Health Board

Bruce Campbell
District 7


Commissioner Bruce Campbell (R)
5131 S Broadway Rd
Hastings MI 49058
(269) 838-7350

Committees:  Board of Health, Board of Public Works, Community Action Agency, Conservation Easement Board, Department of Human Services

David Hatfield - Vice Chair
District 8

Commissioner David Hatfield (R)

Committees:  Area Community Service Employment & Training Council, Hastings LDFA, Joint Planning Alliance, Planning and Zoning Board, West Michigan Planning, Personnel & Human Services Committee